CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Somone keyed my hood :( Any tips for fixing her up?

AaronM

Hey,

Someone decided to leave two 2ft scratches on the hood of my car :( . They don't seem too deep. I can't rub it out with a cloth though. Any tips on fixing her back up? The paint color is black. I was thinking of getting some rubbing compound and polishing compound and see what I can do. I just don't see why people enjoy keying cars. Oh well, what can you do.

Thanks!

Aaron B)

18 Year Old Male

Black 1992 STS 4.9L

90,XXX Miles

Flowmaster 80 series muffler :D

I just don't see why people enjoy keying cars.

Because some people are just mean, rotten and pathetic.

I'm no expert at touch-up but this is what I would probably do. If the scratches were too deep to buff I would tape along the edge of the scratches with painter’s tape and apply a thin layer of touch-up paint. I would first use 600 grit wet/dry sandpaper and level the touch-up using light pressure and water. Then I would buff it with polishing compound. There is also polishing paper (finer than 600 grit) which can be used with water.

Also, you might want to check Wal-Mart for the colored polish, which is suppose to fill scratches. I've never used it so I don't know if it works.

You might ask your insurance agent if a re-paint job on your hood would be covered under your comprehensive coverage. I don't know if it would be but it's worth a phone call to find out.

Failing that, I think mac is on the right track. There is finer sandpaper than 600 grit, though. I have some 1500 and 2000 grit sandpaper that I found at Pep Boys. Pep Boys also caries Dupli-color touch-up paint. It now comes in a bottle with a two way cap. There's the regular brush inside but there's also a ball point pen type applicator that gives you very precise control of the paint. You can fill a scratch, especially on a horizontal surface, without glopping it all over the place.