CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Dead Battery Boost

WarrenJ

Okay, I'm home recovering from surgery with far too much time on my hands. This is a subject I've no knowledge about. Of course, who better to put this question to than this very expansive base of knowledgable folk?

Ever see those half-brick-sized battery boosters for sale at 7-11 stores? It's a one-time-use item. Should you ever find yourself with a dead battery, you're supposed to make certain all your accessories are off and then plug this thing into your cigarette lighter. After a 10 minute wait, supposedly your battery will have been restored to the point that it will start your vehicle.

Well, a few months back I bought one ($20) with very little confidence. Much to my surprise, I gave it to a neighbor in distress lately and guess what? Her car started!

Has anyone here had experience with such things. Or have any info about them? An opinion on reliability? Shelf life? Or would I be better off just buying a Vornado Supercharger?

Regards,

Warren

Posted Image

There is no means of avoiding the final collapse of a boom brought about by credit expansion. The alternative is only whether the crisis should come sooner as the result of a voluntary abandonment of further credit expansion, or later as a final and total catastrophe of the currency system involved. - Ludwig von Mises

Thats very interesting . I have seen them in the stores before, but I dont own one. I'm pleased to hear it really works.

Michael :)

Let's keep in mind I'm aware of only ONE instance where it worked. That's why I'm scrounging for opinions. <_<

Regards,

Warren

Posted Image

There is no means of avoiding the final collapse of a boom brought about by credit expansion. The alternative is only whether the crisis should come sooner as the result of a voluntary abandonment of further credit expansion, or later as a final and total catastrophe of the currency system involved. - Ludwig von Mises