CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Where to get the struts installed

Mike S.

I'd first like to say that I've lurked here for a little while, and I've learned a lot already. I bought a 94 Seville SLS for $1700 two days before my 21st birthday in early september. It had 235,000 on it at the time, it's now up to 242,000. I'm a college student right now, and I also scout for the basketball team at school and for a basketball website, which requires a ton of driving. My Seville has been great so far. I bought it with the understanding that it would need the front struts replaced, and I ordered the Boston struts today. I am fairly inclined mechanically (a friend and I swapped a manual into a Toyota Land Cruiser in high school when the auto went out), but I don't have access to the tools or space I would need here on campus to put the struts in. I have done most of my own autowork in the past, and the one time I brought my car into pep boys, they messed up bigtime. I'm driving home next tuesday, about 1,000 miles, from Dallas to Minneapolis. I'm wondering if anyone has advice on the type of place to look for to get these struts installed. I'm not about to go back to pep boys, and I'd like to avoid the dealership labor rates if at all possible. Is there any chain that is known to be reliable, or anything specific to check when looking for a shop? I'm reluctant to let anybody else work on my car, so any advice would be appreciated.

If I were you I would find a good FRONT END/ALIGNMENT shop. A good place to start might be to stop into a GOOD collision/auto body shop and ask them who does their alignments etc.... Tell them you want the best honest shop... You could back that up by asking a second auto body shop the same question. You are looking for a good FRONT END man.. Personally I would stay away from Firestone, Goodyear, Poopboys, Midas, Aamco, and Mc Donalds ( laugh.gif ).....