CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

DVD Navigation

chig

Hi All,

My 99 STS is a late model, and hasn't got the in dash DVD Nav.

I would presume that Cadillac would use one wiring harness for each model to save money.

What are the odds of finding a DVD Nav unit and installing it? I have GM Techline for 96-2003, so schematics aren't a problem.

Of course I don't know what I'm looking at now, but as necessity is the mother of invention, I'll figure it out, if it is feasable.

Thanks again

chig,

I covered this subject on the old message board almost a year ago. Unfortunately, none of those posts made it into the archive for the old board. So, the following is from my personal memory:

A guy named "Frank" owned a '01 STS equipped with the Bose cassette/CD radio. He was interested in replacing the existing radio with the DVD navigation radio used in '02+ Sevilles and Devilles. I think he had gotten confused in comparing the service manuals' wiring drawings, but I studied the situation and determined that the DVD unit would connect in place of the existing radio and operate with the following additional changes:

1) The vehicle speed signal (4000 pulses per mile, or 4KPPM) would need to be added to the radio wiring harness connector; the only logical source for this signal would be to "tap in" to the appropriate wire at the instrument cluster.