CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

77 Deville Generator Light

ccdog

Hi. First I want to say that this is my first time posting. If I did anything incorrectly I apologize. I am far from a mechanic however I have learned much from this forum and have been able to fix a few issues on my 97 deville from info I read here. I am actually posting about my brothers 77 deville. He is a disabled vet so I am trying to help him out. The car has approximately 80k on it. He has an issue in which his generator light flickers anytime that a power consuming device is used. The light is never solid, just flickers. If he uses the radio. the gen light will flicker the entire time the radio is on. when he turns the radio off, the light stops flickering. Same thing happens while he opens or closes the windows. The gen light stops flickering as soon as he releases the window switch. As long as everything is off, the gen light stays off. His local mechanics said the problem is a loose belt. If that were the case wouldn't the light be on more often? I can't check the belt as I am in Pa and he is in Tx. Thanks in advance for any answers....Jim "ccdog@ptd.net"

Your brother may need a new alternator. I don't know if the 77 Deville has an external regulator or if it's built into the alternator.

In any case, you might want to take it to Sears. For a few bucks, they'll test your electrical system and find out what the problem is. If you let them fix it, they'll credit you for the analysis charge. I've done that a few times. It's fast and painless. They'll even load-test the battery for you.

2003 Seville STS 43k miles with the Bose Sound, Navigation System, HID Headlamps, and MagneRide

1993 DeVille. Looks great inside and out! 298k miles!

IPB Image

Thank you for your very quick reply. I'll let him know. Thanks again...Jim

Your brother may need a new alternator. I don't know if the 77 Deville has an external regulator or if it's built into the alternator.