CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Orifice Tube Location?????

clusco

Hi everyone. I just changed my compressor and clutch assembly and the drier but I also hear I should change the "orifice tube". Where in the world is this piec located on my car? I have a 1995 Cadillac Seville STS. Please help soon.

Thanks so much for the quick reply and help. Also, I changed my compressor, clutch and drier but while waiting (the last 3 days) to get my A/C recharged, I left the 2 A/C lines unattached to the drier because the label said not to unseal the drier until right before charging. Should I have been driving around with the 2 lines unattached if I wasn't using the fans in the car? And now I have attached the 2 lines up to the drier until tomorrow afternoon, at which time I will get the system charged with freon, and my question is: Is this bad for my drier (i.e. moisture, etc...)?

I am not an AC expert but no you don't want to allow air to get at the dryer you should leave the caps on the dryer, just tape the ends of the lines that go to the dryer to keep debris out. The AC shop will evacuate the system. If you find and debris in the orifice tube tell the shop they will need to purge the system. I am doing the exact same job that you did, soon. How much of a job was it to get the compressor in and out? Did you put oil in the compressor and how much? Thanks, Mike

Kevin (KHE) on here is knowledgable about AC systems.

PS, I am sure this is obvious, but don't put the new orifice tube in if you find debris in the old one, they need to purge the system first. They use some sort of volitile solvent to clean the system. I am very interested in how your compressor came out. Here is a picture of my old compressor, my hub bearing went bad and overheated the clutch coil, Mike

post-3-1111491600_thumb.jpg