CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Engine Removal

taa99sts

I'm in the process of doing the head gasket repair on my 99 STS and currently working to remove the engine from the top. My question is at this time is what to do with the A/C system if I don't have anyway to recover the refrigerent? Any other tips will also help in my endeavor.

P.S. This is my first attempt at major engine work. I thought it would be a great learning experience.

Tim

If the engine compartment is the same as the earlier models, there is no need to open the AC system. Just unbolt the compressor and tie it aside with nylon tiestraps.

See attached image for 1993 STS.

post-3-1097034104.jpg

Drive'em like you own 'em. - ....................04 DTS............................

DTS_Signature.jpg

One more image of engine compartment.

post-3-1097034179.jpg

Drive'em like you own 'em. - ....................04 DTS............................

DTS_Signature.jpg

Let me know if you can get the 99 engine out from the top.. I have a 99 and i'm going to rebuild the engine sometime in the next year or so, so it would be nice to know what the procedure is to get it out.

I see you left the tranny in there :) How did you manage that one.

If the engine compartment is the same as the earlier models, there is no need to open the AC system. Just unbolt the compressor and tie it aside with nylon tiestraps.

See attached image for 1993 STS.

Good Idea Growe3 to just remove the compressor!! ;)

Let me know if you can get the 99 engine out from the top.. I have a 99 and i'm going to rebuild the engine sometime in the next year or so, so it would be nice to know what the procedure is to get it out.

I see you left the tranny in there :) How did you manage that one.

Just pulled the engine from the top.

-George

post-3-1097092249.gif

DTS_Signature.jpg

How did you support the tranny?