CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Squeek from front brake in Park

lothos

With the car in park, I apply the brake to shift and I can hear the driver's side front brake squeeking. I have some white lithium grease, is this something that can be greased or do I eventually need a new caliper?

If I can grease it, what should I be greasing?

Thanks for the help guys.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

I found this post from growe3:

It is Silicone Grease, NOT petroleum grease, as per the Cadillac Service Manual.

The grease must be applied to specific areas in small adequate amounts, not liberally.

Note: Front Disk Brake Caliper is described; Rear Disk Brake Caliper is similar.

The mounting pins (caliper sliders) need to be clean and free moving. Do not try to remove the sleeve from the bolt, just work it free. I use spray brake cleaner to do this. It works fast and will dry clean very fast without leaving any residue. When clean, sleeve will move without any resistance on the pin.

After cleaning the pins, pull the sleeve away from the pinhead and apply a small amount of grease (using the small packet of Silicone Grease that comes with the brake pads) to the exposed inner area. Work the sleeve with a twisting, and back & forth motion to get the grease smeared under the sleeve. Place aside on a clean surface.

Clean the rubber bushing on the caliper with spray brake cleaner and a round parts cleaner brush if you have one. Allow a few minutes to dry.

Apply a small amount of Silicone Grease to the outside of the pin sleeve. Push the pin into the rubber bushing on the caliper. It will be stiff. Work the pin back and forth until it move smoothly. There will always be some resistance.