CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Adding subs to the Bose head unit.

ero1220

I'm not very good with car audio setups, and when I say not very good I mean I know next to nothing. How exactly would I wire in a seperate amp powering two 10" subs I have in a box in the trunk? I have all of the equipment and wiring, and I understand what is needed, but I'm no genius electrician. My plan is to have the amp and subs in the trunk and have a seperate control (simple on/off) up front for them. This is a project I had an old friend do for me in my 93 STS, but I haven't spoken with him in years and I know someone here will be able to provide some help.

I have been thinking about adding a new 12" subwoofer too I know I could do it but becasue of Caddilac's extensive electrical system I will leave it to the boys at the stereo shop. A reputable stereo shop should charge you no more than 4 hrs labour. Spend the money to hook it up the right way.

i bought two really high end 12" subs with the appropriate amp to run them, i do not know how they installed it but i know they somehow spliced into the stock stereo, it sounded like crap the bass pumped like crazy and it was really loud but i got an electrical interference with every thing the car did like the engine RPM went throught the subs turn signals the antena going up and down,it was not reall noticable at first but it got progressivly worse forcing me to just take them out,they are now in my semi, hopefully your installer knows what they are doing better then the guys at AVU in guildford b.c.

and remember get something louder than you want that sealed trunk sure keeps in alot of the noise.

good luck

I'm planning on doing the same to mine.. Really I think just replacing the stock subwoofer and maybe getting a bigger amp might satisfy me without a box.. but i'm not sure.. It's real easy to hook up.. You have to take the back seat out to get to the amp (at least on my 99) and I don't mean just the bottom i mean the entire seat back.