CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Shocks

mike33

I own two Cadillacs, but this is not a Cadillac question. My father-in law and I are going to replace the front shocks on his 1992 Chevy Silverado PU. Can anybody out there send me a link with instructions on how to do this? I've never done it before, and I know the knowlegable folks on this board can help!

Thanks!

I own two Cadillacs, but this is not a Cadillac question. My father-in law and I are going to replace the front shocks on his 1992 Chevy Silverado PU. Can anybody out there send me a link with instructions on how to do this? I've never done it before, and I know the knowlegable folks on this board can help!

Thanks!

Remove the lower mounting bolts - there will be two per side. Get a deep socket that will fit the nut on the top of the shock - attach the longest combination of extensions to the socket and then work it back and forth (fore/aft) until the stud breaks and the old shock drops to the ground. I've used that technique for years and it makes replacing shocks a 30 minute job.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71

Thanks KHE. I'm looking for a more step by step approach for a newbie. Anyone have diagrams or complete directions?

Based on my experience the only thing that KHE's description is lacking is to take a swig of BEER between working on the LF and RF. Besides that his description is right on. If you need more than that may I suggest the dealer $$$, Firestone, Goodyear or Pep Boys :blink: .

Maybe these guys can help

http://www.fullsizechevy.com/forums/

Thanks KHE. I'm looking for a more step by step approach for a newbie. Anyone have diagrams or complete directions?

Jack the front of the truck up or put it on ramps so you have clearance to work. I use a creeper to move easily under the vehicle. Follow the shock to the bottom mount and you'll see two bolts holding it to the lower suspension member. Remove those bolts.