CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

92 Seville Audio Changes

I'm new to this message board but I posted on the old one years ago. I have a silver-gray 92 seville with about 70k miles now in 05.

These are the things I've changed from a stock DELCO non BOSE audio system:

2 5.25 component speakers for the front. They look like the left image without the grill that doesn't fit in the door. The front speaker covers pop off and the 5.25s are a match for a replacement.

sps-130a.gif

2 6x9 component speakers for the back. Like the left one in the image without the grill that doesn't fit. To replace the 6x9s I took out the back seat (bottom part) by pushing down-back and then up-forward, there is a latch. Then to get the back seat out there are 2 large nuts in the car and 2 small nuts in the trunk. I used lots of washers when putting the trunk bolts back on. The rear window-sill cover had 3 plastic snaps and a some glue. Under the cover the 6x9s are hooked into a plastic frame with metal clips. I cut the plastic off, and drilled holes to attach the new speakers and added styrofoam to prevent vibration. The 4ohm 6x9s worked even though the DeLCO amp was expecting 10ohms of resistance.

sps-690a.gif

After swapping out the front and back DELCO speakers with Alpine Speakers I noticed that the highs sounded more defined and separated from the lows since the component speakers were similar to the original 4 DELCO speakers, + 6 small speakers inside them creating noticeably separated highs. Personally I liked the original DELCO speakers. I've listened to a 99 Cadillac BOSE system, and I doubt this 92 will ever sound as nice as that to me but I can give the 92 more base, and make it louder than a stock 99. I wouldn't recommend spending the time and money to replace Audio Systems or car parts in general unless they're broken, or if you want to make an investment you'll lose money on, and enjoy it.

Also added to the list of changes from stock that have been done are: