CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

1964 deVille can't accelerate past 10 MPH!

Medic4U

Ok, I have a '64 Sedan deVille that I have restored, and I know the complete history on the car, as my grandfather purchased it new!  It went to my father when my grand dad passed away, & my father gave it to me when I graduated from college in 1991 (I think because I had $4,000 tied up in rebuilding the engine, & he didn't want to have to pay for it...). Anyway, I went to take it to work this morning, & after letting her warm up as usual, I backed out of the garage, on to the street, everything seemed normal so far, and shifted into reverse fine, & back into drive (this is the normal TH400, not the Slim Jim tranny), although '64 was the first year for the TH400..  

When I shifted into drive, I only go about 25' before I have to stop for an intersection, so I hadn't gone faster than about 5 MPH yet.  When I pulled away from the stop sign I immediately noticed something was not right.  The engine just shuddered when I went to accelerate, it just would not go over 10 MPH.  I put the trans in neutral, & revved the engine. No problem there. Then car rolled fine, no brakes dragging.  The tranny shifted in & out of Fwd, Park, & Rev no problem, the car just would not go.  I checked transmission fluid, pink, & up to full, as was engine oil.  Nothing seemed amiss!  It drove fine to church last Sunday.

The engine, transmission, & differential, & all U-joints were rebuilt in 1991 when I did close to a frame off restoration. It's not a museum piece,but find me another original family car that's going on 55 years in the same family, & it's my son's car next, when he graduated in 3 years...  I have put maybe 3500 miles on the car since 1991.  But am I looking at a torque converter? That's the only thing I can think the that could cause this symptom. Thanks.

Mike Roberts 

Welcome to CaddyInfo forum. You have come to a great place.

Few questions.

Does it run fine in park and neutral?