CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Bad sway bar bushings?

Here is a photo, the bushings are held in place by two bolts (see circles), the slit in the bushing faces the rear of the car.. The bar does not come out, do one side at a time, get the car up so you can get under it and use a SAFETY JACK. You can see them from the wheel well also and may be able to do the job from the wheel well with the wheel off. The bushings are about $20 a pair (one each side).

post-3-1113496758_thumb.jpg

I did the bushing replacement last year. You need to put it on jack stands and take the wheels off. The work (replacement is done from underneath) is not complicated but I believe I followed my Helms proceedure. I think that one of the steps was to not remove both bushings at once.(Sway bar drops ands you lose position)

I'm not a mechanic,but some of the people that claim to be aren't either. It is probably easier than doing all four brakes. I think the bushings totaled under $20.

Check my posts.

Kent

Easier than doing all four brakes, is an understatement! Its a cake walk compared to the rear brakes and way easier than doing the front brakes.

It's 4 bolts going through 2 U-brackets! A monkey could do this job with one 13 mm socket and a 3/8" ratchet wrench, and that comes from someone who doesn't claim to be a mechanic!

FGB,

I just changed mine last week. It was easy. Just remember that both wheels must be off the ground, or both wheels need to be on ramps. If you just jack one side of the car, it will load the bushings to where they would be impossible and or dangerous to work on.