CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

acm 1312 high side temperature short circuit

joshpb

I have a 1999 cadillac deville. Just figured out how to use the OBD. current code is acm 1312. I've read in different forums it could be the sensor or wiring. Where is the sensor? I've changed the coolant temp sensor?? Any help or ideas? If you do please bare with me im fairly new to mechanical lingo. 

The high side temp sensor or thermistor is located on the AC line that runs along the firewall toward the brake booster.  It is item #3 in the diagram below.

AC diagram.jpg

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71

Unplug the sensor, then turn the ignition to ON and enter diagnostics.  If the code changes to the "High side temp. open, then the sensor is bad.  You will need to recover the refrigerant in order to change the sensor.  Don't just unscrew it or you'll have a massive refrigerant leak.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71

Does the 1312 code say current or history?  I would clear the codes, then run the ac and see what code shows up.  If it is the same code if the sensor is plugged in or not, then it sounds like a wiring issue, and you need to look for damaged wires, or corrosion in the connectors, etc. 

With the sensor unplugged, clear the codes, then re-enter diagnostics.  If the shorted code is still current, then there is a short in the wiring to the sensor.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71

Does that mean I have to replace the whole wiring?? Because i did just what was told. Disconnected the wire from sensor. And ran diagnostic again. Yes the code is still current. Any videos or play by play of how to replace the wiring?