CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Why do I like Cadillac

Scotty

I love computer's, I have built a few hundred since 1990, and am currently using a very high performance machine. In addition, given that my Dad was a B-17 mechanic and did all of his own auto repairs, I have been involved with auto mechanics since I could stand on a milk crate! In addition, I was a mechanic at Sun Ship Building and Dry Dock the yard that built the Howard Hughes Glomar Explorer when I was in high school. Actually Howard Hughes was a the "cover", it was built by the CIA to pull up a Russian sub two miles down in the Pacific, it was also in the movie, The Abyss.

So when you put mechanics and computers together like in the Cadillac, now that REALLY floats my boat! I was just reading the Cadillac History and read this about the 1996 Deville and love it,

The 1996 Sedan DeVille used the 275-horsepower version of the 4.6-liter engine mated to the 4T80-E electronically controlled four-speed automatic transmission with viscous converter clutch. This combination replaced the formerly standard 4.9-liter V-8 and 4T60-E four-speed transmission. Sedan DeVille's new final drive ratio was 3.11:1.

The Concours sedan again featured the 300-horsepower version of the Northstar engine also coupled to the 4T80-E transmission. Its final drive ratio was revised from 3.11:1 to 3.71:1 for improved acceleration and passing performance.

A more powerful Powertrain Control Module (PCM) with micro-processors monitored and directed DeVille engine/transmission operations.

Clock speed of the PCM microprocessor was increased from 2.1 megahertz to 3.4 megahertz, which improved processing time 63 percent.

Memory size was increased from 64 kilobytes to 96 kilobytes per microprocessor, allowing the PCM to provide more software functionality.

For improved throttle response and reduced exhaust emissions, a mass air flow sensor was added.