CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

93 cadillac deville shifting problem

hi everyone this is my first time on one of these forums so just let me know if i did something wrong. thanks for the help

i have a 93 Cadillac deville with a problem. my car has 106000 miles with v8 4.9. the car will run fine end everything will work like it should until you get 25 to 40 miles down the road or drive for 15 min and late idle for 20 min then the car will not want to go into gear. i have replaced the torque converter solenoid, egr, idle air control valve , safety neutral switch, vss, and changed fuel filter. the problem is when it gets warm it does not want to go into gear i have hooked it up to a computer while driving down the road the computer shows that that the gears are turning on and off and i dont know what the problem is or what i need do as i do not have a lot of money.

:welcomesmiley:

If there is an electrical problem, you can probably tell what it is using the On-Board Diagnostics to look for it. With the key ON, on the A/C buttons, press OFF and WARM together until all the dash lights come on like you just turned on the key, then release both buttons. Watch the message center near the speedometer, and the codes will be given, one at a time. Write them down and post them here.

You say you used a computer with the car while driving with the car and may already have the OBD codes. If so, please post them here.

Some car diagnostic computers can read data from the PCM/ECM. If so, and you can read them, the hydraulic pressures inside the transmission can be helpful.

There are links in my signature block for a Caddyinfo "How-To" page on reading your OBD codes, and for my personal OBD and RPO code lists for Cadillacs. I just added an early OBD I page that covers your car.