CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Slightly OT.....Need to learn about Radar Detector

davedog

I'm not one to speed, but I always thought having a radar detector would be neat to have, just to be informed about whats going on. I just received one as an early Christmas present....I'm not really here to find out about which one is the best, or X-Brand does this, and X-brand does that....just want to know some general info.

I will be driving through Virginia on my trip, where they are agaist the law, should I unplug it and hide it?? Or only take it down if I get pulled over? Do they pull people over for having them if your not speeding? Can they really detect mine (it's supposed to be invisablte several different detector-detectors).

Can and do cops run radar while they are driving?

Sorry for these stupid questions, I'm new to this, and like I said, I rarely find myself speeding (just isn't worth it), and I don't plan on it now, but I would like to know a little about this before my 600 mile trip tomorrow.

THANKS

-dave B)

Crystal Red Tintcoat Exterior | Shale/Brownstone Interior | 32k

I think Police do / can run radar while moving.

Beltronics says at http://www.beltronics.com/detector-faq.html that there is a new type of detector detector that detects most units.

One site quoted this as the Virginia law:

46.2-1079. Radar detectors