CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Self inflicted wound!

sprucegoose

Man, am I stupid... :( I thought I was looking close enough as I was backing out of a parking spot today at a local store. I saw these these bushes behind me as I was creeping back, but figured I had plenty of room when all of the sudden BOOM and I came to a dead stop. :o What a sickening feeling! I have never done this before. I get out and look and the bushes were in these big planters made of landscaping timbers, about waist high. The plants were a good 4 feet in, and from inside the car you can't see the wall. Judging from the battle scars I know I'm not the only one that did this there! :unsure:

I can't believe the damage from going 3-5 mph. The worst part is it crunched one of the exaust tips I was so proud of on that car. The bumper is shifted in aprox. 1-2 inches on that corner, and the lower facia is hanging loose now behind the rear wheelwell. Now I have a project to do... I can't stand the thought of driving my beautiful Eldo around like this! :(

'09 Cadillac CTS-4 3.6 direct injection, 128 K mi.
'15 Chevy Tahoe LTZ, 5.3i V8, 125 K mi
'70 Firebird Formula 400, Bored+.04, RAIII heads, M21 4spd., in-process restoration!

I haven't backed up into any damage (yet) but, I am also having difficulty gauging the distance while backing up with my STS. I 'm usually at least 2ft or more from the stationary object behind me.

So I kinda feel your pain.

Peace out....

ByStorm

You know, I think I will talk to the store owner about it. He recently took over the business and would probably be willing to do something to make this less likely to happen top others in the future. I definitely notice that it is harder to see things behind me in the Eldo as the trunk is so high and the sails are very wide. It's no ones fault but my own though! :rolleyes: