CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

1997 Deville that is a smoke machine

tysonh80

Hi guys,

I am a student at an automotive tech school. For a week or so I've been trying different tests on this 1997 deville trying to figure out why it smokes like a mofo. I'll list the things I've tried or tested at this point. I'm not really sure where else to check at this point. To me it seems to have several different problems.

Here were my initial observations with the car:

Misfire on #7 that caused a check engine light and was throwing a code for it.

With a camera inside #7 the top of the piston is much cleaner than the other pistons.

Compression test on #7 turned out normal.

Massive amounts of white smoke from exhaust after 2 minutes of engine running.

Black residue being ejected from tail pipes. Same residue that is located inside the intake. Same black residue drips down from where manifold meets the cat.

Exhaust smells like fuel 99% of the time, although today it smelled like oil.

Oil pressure is normal.

Coolant level normal and stable.

Temp. level normal.

Vacuum tested at 20 psi on intake.

Removed the injector on #7 put a camera inside. Both valves move when we bumped the engine.

Moved the injector from #7 and switched it with #3. Check engine light went off. Still smokes like a mofo.

The plugs on the car have a lot of black build up on them.