CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

67 caddy

Caddy1234

Hi, I'm new to the site. I'm thinking to buying my buddy's 67 caddy conv. Engine is seized. Was wondering what engine to put in it. Any ideas? Want it to sound mean and have some power. Pease be specific on engines that would fit this vehicle and perform/ sound well. As I am no mechanic. Thanks

Unless you are going to find a used 1967 Cadillac engine for an exact or near-exact replacement, you are pretty much on your own as far as an engine swap is concerned. Here are some general things to look for if you don't match the model year exactly.

Fitment of brackets, accessories, starter, water pump, fan clearance with the radiator and fan shroud, exhaust manifold clearing the steering gear, etc. are some general things to look for if you don't have an exact match. Matching up to the transmission is less likely to be a problem unless you use a front-wheel-drive engine, but getting the transmission with the engine will move the problem to matching up the shifting linkage and front universal joint.

Try to use all the brackets and accessories from your old engine on the replacement to minimize the problems, even with another engine from 1956. Note that mounting for the brackets on the engines depends on bolting to the castings, and the bosses may not even be there, much less the drilled and tapped holes, when model years differ.

All the Cadillac V8s from 1949 through 1962 weighed about the same so you won't run into a problem with the front end high or low with any of them. The big V8 from 1963-1980 were in general lighter but the displacement varied quite a bit so the weight may have varied too. Engines from the 1956 through 1958 will be closest to the 1956 model year engine if you find, say, a 1957 engine and want to try that.