CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

several problems w/ the seville that i have alot of attachment to and finally own but is it to late. at 74000 miles i hope not. plz help

I need your guys expertise, I am no mechanic but I can and have got it done. pretty much can do anything that I am properly informed about. I do have a fear about this car being a nightmare though but i have a 9 mo old and its a lot nicer for him than my beat to heck 88 blazer not to mention easier for the wife. I convinced my grandmother ( might have well been my mother ) to buy this sls when i was 16 years old. I already got the caddy tattoo because of this car. Now i own it, But Not before I went through almost a decade of drug addiction, and leaving my father who I love but learned all the bad habits from, to neglect a emaculatly maintained champaign bueaty of a caddy. My grandma was almost OCD with this car. beach towls on the seats and all. my father went on some adventure and had it sitting for 2 years never used literally full of trash, dirty paper plates and reaking, he decides he agrees that there is huge sentimental value to me in it. So its yours he says. It just needs a tune up he says. 2400 bucks later I still am finding all kind of problem. The most important one to address is the coolant issue. About two weeks ago the computer tells me to check coolant level. Which didn't surprise me, I was feeling like there was an issue in the cooling system. the gauge never breaks half, well maybe a hair. Yet I can feel heat coming all down under the dash. Well I pop the hood and where there was a small crack in the coolant expansion chamber about 3 years ago and had some sort of epoxy fix it was leaking again not a buch but I figured enough and that's problem. I already spent over two grand on this car so far, so its diy time. I jump on ebay and order a expansion. get it installed and Still get the message. while im trying to figure this out I end up finding the bottom of expansion is leaking from the