CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Shift improvement for 97 STS

scottshoe

Do you want crisper shifts for all around daily driving or do you just want a deadly 1-2 shift during wide open throttle runs from a stop?

Please forgive me if I'm telling you something you already know, but if you put the selector in 2nd you'll actually be able to break the tires loose on a 1-2 shift when you do a WOT run from a standing start (raises the fluid pressure in the tranny).

Regards,

Warren

Posted Image

There is no means of avoiding the final collapse of a boom brought about by credit expansion. The alternative is only whether the crisis should come sooner as the result of a voluntary abandonment of further credit expansion, or later as a final and total catastrophe of the currency system involved. - Ludwig von Mises

I would like slightly firmer shifts all around... but I didn't know about the holding it in 2nd deal! I am new to Caddy's and most of my cars have had manual trannies. I'll try the holding it in 2nd thing and see if it works. My car also takes a few seconds to go into reverse from drive after being driven... is this common? I am going to change the trans fluid and put B&M slickshift in it... just to see if that helps any.

There are a few companies that I've found that sell shift kits and what not for the 4T80E transmission. The company with the most parts would have to be ProTech Transmissions, they have a heavy duty rebuild kit for the 4T80E transmission as well as individual parts. this is their website- http://www.protechtransmissions.com/perfor...libration%20Kit

I called them and asked about the complete performance rebuild and they said that they would have to do it in house if I wanted it done. They would probably sell you the shift kit by itself though.