CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Looking for a newer Cadi 99-2003

lothos

Hey Guys, I'm looking for a newer Cadillac. I've had a 1995 STS for over 4 years now, looking for something a little different. Currently looking at 99-2003 Devilles, STS, Seville, and Eldorado. Leaning more towards the Deville right now, but I haven't driven any yet.

Any pitfalls to look out for?

When were the headgasket bolts redesigned? Was it 2000 and 2002? Do the newer ones still have head gasket issues?

Was there really a 50th Anniversary Edition Deville in 99? Or was that just dealer badges? Are they rare enough that I should buy one? I really like the looks of the car.

The 02 Eldorados seem to be more expensive than the STS and other models, will those hold their value better since it was the last year?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

The headbolts were last redesigned in 2004.

There was an update in 2000 or 2002 though, right?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

....When were the headgasket bolts redesigned? Was it 2000 and 2002? Do the newer ones still have head gasket issues?
Several changes were applied to the 2000+ engines; the compression ratio was lowered a fraction, the pistons were redesigned to control the flame front to tolerate 87 octane fuel, the intake manifold / throttle body were redesigned AND coincidently, the head bolts were redesigned.

The Internet urban mythology rumor mill fueled by hearsay has not been kind to the Northstar. I expect a scientific study based on "evidence" would reveal the Northstar head gasket failure rate is no different from any other 1990's era engine.

And then there are the cases of inaccurate diagnosis.