CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

hub bearing help needed

lothos

1995 sts. Broke 2 of the lug nut studs off. Now I'm trying to replace the hub. I can't for the life of me get the 33mm hub bolt off. Borrowed an air compressor and impact wrench and still no luck. Am I missing a step? Take wheel off, prybar in the rotor so it doesn't move, then remove 33mm bolt?

Also the book calls for a hub seal installer, what's that and do I need one?

Thanks guys :-)

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

When I took mine off, I put a chisel in the rotor, put an 18 inch breaker bar on and STAND on it with one foot and kind of bounce... I am 225 pounds so it seems to do the trick.

I once broke a craftsman ratchet handle with a 4 foot pipe attached to it to take of my 91s nut, I miss that ratchet

Never ran it a hub seal with my 96

Pre-1995 - DTC codes OBD1  >>

1996 and newer - DTC codes OBD2 >> https://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/gm/obd_codes.htm

How to check for codes Caddyinfo How To Technical Archive >> http://www.caddyinfo.com/wordpress/cadillac-how-to-faq/

Cadillac History & Specifications Year by Year  http://www.motorera.com/cadillac/index.htm

I jumped on the 18 inch breaker bar a little bit last night. Hopefully the PB Blaster has worked it's magic.

I'll give it another shot, I'm like 205 lbs so let's hope :-)

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

1995 sts. Broke 2 of the lug nut studs off. Now I'm trying to replace the hub.

I thought those lug nut studs can be banged out from the back & replaced? It may have to be removed to do the replacement though. Just a thought.