CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

LS6 coolant loss

Kendall

Has anyone experienced rapid loss of engine coolant with their CTS-V motor? California car shipped to U.S.Embassy in Beijing,normal city driving,normal heat range, 28,000 miles and no leaks on the garage floor, but check engine coolant light is a 4-6 week event,always need to add about one pint. The one Cadillac dealer in Beijing is improving, but don't see their service as helpful. What am I missing ? Small leak that just gets cooked off in the engine compartment ? Kendall, Operations Manager, Beijing Embassy.

I have no (zero) experience with the LS6 but I don't see losing a pint of coolant every 4 to 6 weeks as a major leak. Of course, the cooling system should be "water tight".

Perhaps the (cold) coolant level is not at the proper level OR the coolant level message sensor is faulty?

A very small external leak can vaporize or be blown away by road draft. If the cooling system is maintained with Dex-Cool, there might be (difficult to see) traces of white/gray residue at the source of the leak.

Good luck!!

Jim

Drive your car.

Use your cell phone.

CHOOSE ONE !

A leak this small can be anywhere. I would start by putting on a new radiator cap -- be sure it's the exact right part number, and an AC/Delco part. Other possibilities are small leaks at the hose clamps; as JimD says you can look for a white powdery residue near a hose clamp. If you don't find it there you can look at the traditional places like the radiator and water pump but those are very rare for a low-mileage new car.

CTS-V_LateralGs_6-2018_tiny.jpg
-- Click Here for CaddyInfo page on "How To" Read Your OBD Codes
-- Click Here for my personal page to download my OBD code list as an Excel file, plus other Cadillac data
-- See my CaddyInfo car blogs: 2011 CTS-V, 1997 ETC
Yes, I was Jims_97_ETC before I changed cars.