CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

94 seville help asap trying to keep her from the scrap yard

angealus

Hi I have a 94 seville sts with the northstar engine, I love this car and really want to keep it after all the money and time I invested. My dashboard used to start fine and every once and a while the outside temp on the climate control would read -- and that would follow by the left side instrument and inside temp follows showing the same thing -- , --, -- as well as this the defogers get stuck on. this would happen for twenty or so minutes and then the dashboard instruments would come back to normal and I could turn off the defogers this problem is becoming more of a constant ocurrence with less of the dash and defoggers working properly. when I check the dash for codes I am seeing

I032

I033

I034

I037

I039

Please any help would be greatly appreciated and I am a beginner so as much detail and explanation would be greatly appreciated..

Too many codes. The chances are you have bad electrical connections at the battery and the grounds. Also disconnect-reconnect at least TEN times PCM and AC programmer to recondition the connections (clean corrosion).

The saddest thing in life is wasted talent

Could be a bad IPC. It's displaying all the classic signs of a bad IPC. Fuel and Hvac displays go '--' blank...defrost kicks in...warning messages...codes are:

IO32 'loss of abs data'

IO33 'loss of sir data'

IO34 'loss of pcm data'

IO37 'loss of acp data'

IO39 'loss of rss data'

All the computers 'talk' to each other on circuit 800. If one of the system computers goes bad, it can mess up the data on circuit 800.

A scan tool really does no good on this problem.

Using a DVOM, you can measure the voltage of circuit 800 at pin M on the ALDL. Voltage should be 3-5v and fluctuating all the time. If the voltage locks up, about 15-20 seconds latter you'll see the classic '--' blank display and warning messages.