CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

did a tune up, still a little miss/hesitation?

lothos

I did new plugs and wires on the 1995 STS 4.6L with ACDelco parts.

Car ran absolutely great that night. Today after work I noticed a little bit of a miss at a stop light, and some hesitation. It cleared up when I ran errands tonight. Flooring it is great now, but every once in a while there is a miss and some sluggishness at the upper end up around 80mph.

I'm thinking there's a coil pack going bad now? They seem to be 14 years old. Would that be the suggested thing to check out next?

Thanks guys!

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

I also need to replace my O2 sensors, I think they're original. Can't seem to remove the O2 sensor next to the firewall though. I have ACDelco O2 replacement sensors.

Could the O2 sensors have anything to do with this?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

Have you changed the fuel filter? Almost sounds like a fuel-supply issue.

Before changing the coils, I'd start by wire-brushing all the towers on them, and making sure that the ground-strap and all the pin-connectors on the coil-pack "plate" are clean and well-connected.

I don't think 02 sensors would cause a miss, as they'll usually set codes as they're failing, and generally just lead to higher fuel consumption. I could be wrong.

Not that this solves any "real" issues, but I find my car runs considerably better when I clean the throttle body out of all the 'crud' that builds up around throttle plate, and then reset the PCM by disconnecting the battery, so the new air/fuel/idle parameters are re-learned. May want to try that too, as you just did a tune-up.

Have you changed the fuel filter? Almost sounds like a fuel-supply issue.