CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

frozen doors

johnnydone

I live in Minneapolis and it's -8F right now, the high all day was -1F :lol:

Someone on the forum here suggested warm tap water and be sure to keep it off your glass.

I'd probably use the hair dryer suggestion personally. Did you try all the doors? My doors have been frozen shut before on another car, and I was able to get one of the passenger side doors open and start the car up, the heater took care of the other door.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

thanks guys a buddy came by and he got it open i dont know how more freezing rain and snow tonight so might have same prob tomorrow by the way my other cad went back in the shop had low coolant message crack ine side rad tank plus the fan motor dropped its fan this will be the 3rd one

its a never ending battle

Try a gallon of hot water from the house, poured slowly over the edges of the door. Hot water in a can made especially for watering garden plants would be ideal.

CTS-V_LateralGs_6-2018_tiny.jpg
-- Click Here for CaddyInfo page on "How To" Read Your OBD Codes
-- Click Here for my personal page to download my OBD code list as an Excel file, plus other Cadillac data
-- See my CaddyInfo car blogs: 2011 CTS-V, 1997 ETC
Yes, I was Jims_97_ETC before I changed cars.

thanks guys a buddy came by and he got it open i dont know how more freezing rain and snow tonight so might have same prob tomorrow by the way my other cad went back in the shop had low coolant message crack ine side rad tank plus the fan motor dropped its fan this will be the 3rd one