CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

I am very unclear on this one, so I am listening for other responses. Cadillac's instructions on car care I think say just keep it clean and don't use any leather cleaner, conditioner, or preservation add-ons. I think the detailing sites recommend several products that they have found DO work well to care for and preserve. They describe leather as something you need to keep moisturized, etc. I am not sure, but I wanted to reply to your post.

Bruce

2023 Cadillac CT4-V Blackwing

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

• 3 months later...

I asked a similar question a while ago and one suggestion that I got was to use dove soap. The kind that you shower with. Melt a bar in a bucket of water and use the mush to clean the seats.

I tried it out and it's worked pretty good so far.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

I'll share (again) how I have been cleaning/treating automobile leather for many years.

Cleaning:

Use a vacuum with a crevice tool to remove any abrasive material from the folds and seams.

Use a damp cloth with warm water to remove any remaining surface dust.

Use a mild detergent in warm water to thoroughly clean the entire surface; some areas might require elbow grease. My favorite detergent is Woolite.

Remove/rinse any detergent with warm rinse water.

Towel dry. Completely dry!

Treatment:

Thoroughly and liberally coat the leather with Mink Oil applied with your bare hand. Mink Oil is available from shoe stores and leather repair shops.

Allow the Mink Oil to penetrate the leather for as long as you can (hours, if possible).

Towel off any excess Mink Oil.

Repeat in 6 months.

My approach is not for everyone, but I choose to avoid using any product or chemistry on my leather that I would not use on my own skin.

Jim

Drive your car.

Use your cell phone.

CHOOSE ONE !