CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

tie rod

should i only buy an ac delco tie rod? and if so where can i get it? i looked on rockoauto but they had other companies. i need outer tie rods are they easy to replace? any special tools?

If you order from RockAuto there's a discount code you can use, click the link in my signature.

I've never done a tie rod, I'm still learning about cars. My buddy has done them on my Cutlass when I had it, and it didn't take him very long. You may need an alignment after it's replaced.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

If you order from RockAuto there's a discount code you can use, click the link in my signature.

I've never done a tie rod, I'm still learning about cars. My buddy has done them on my Cutlass when I had it, and it didn't take him very long. You may need an alignment after it's replaced.

thanks.. what manufacture should i use??

If the ACDelco is around the same price I'd go for that.

I believe the brand I put in the Cutlass was a Niehoff or something, no issues with it but I sold the car not long after.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

This is not really a critical part, Moog is good also, I don't doing think a tie rod on our cars is easy, I don't think I would do this job (someone confirm my thinking)

Pre-1995 - DTC codes OBD1  >>

1996 and newer - DTC codes OBD2 >> https://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/gm/obd_codes.htm

How to check for codes Caddyinfo How To Technical Archive >> http://www.caddyinfo.com/wordpress/cadillac-how-to-faq/

Cadillac History & Specifications Year by Year  http://www.motorera.com/cadillac/index.htm