CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

crankshift position sensor

I have a p0335 code. I am changing my sensors tomorrow. Is one of the symptoms of a bad sensor engine stalls? Can you explain to why if so and what this sensor actually does. Thanks. I'm trying to learn about cars. I am an aircraft electrician. I can fix a plane but not my own car. This must change!

Well I just found the search function on this site. I see it does cause your vehicle to stall at any speed! Scary, stuff!!! Well the code I am getting is for sensor A. Do I really need to change both if it constantly fails for the A circuit? They have both sensors for $39.99 each at auto zone with a two year warranty. Do you think these parts are ok to put on my caddy even tough there not OEM? Cause my AC in my house needs to be replaced as of today and I need to pich some pennies if I can!

Jeezy,

Was the 0335 the only code returned? If this is referance to your other existing thread, (heavy idleing), you may want to continue it there to maintain continuity.

Many modern cars do not have distributers that are mechanically-linked to the crankshaft etc. The crankshaft position sensors work together to electronically-time the engine ignition via the ECM and coil packs or coil-over plugs- along with knock sensors, and a host of other electronic add-ons.

Crank sensors are simply electronic coils sensing gaps in a toothed wheel or holes in a plate, etc, and thus generating a DC square wave, perfect for a computer input. A failure of one does not cause an immediate failure, but can certainly result in intermittant stalls etc. These similar sensors are used throught the car, in the tranny, at the wheels, the steering rack - everywhere a position or speed is desired. Sometimes the gap can be adjusted or the element cleaned, but usually - just replace it.

Good luck,

Add power to leave problems behind. Most braking is just - poor planning.