CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

1990 Seville, having a few problems

Hi, I just purchased a 1990 Seville. I am new to Cadillac's and seem to be having a few problems. I would appreciate any input anyone may have. 1st thing, the car runs hot. It hasnt over heated, but it is hot. The highet I have seen the coolant temp go it about 223. When it was this hot I noticed the smell of antifreeze. I turned the defrost on high and watched the temp drop to 188-192 with no smell of coolant. I am thinking that the thermostat is not opening up. I can squeeze the top hose on the radiator a little. It's not soft. But I can squeeze it a bit when the car is running. The anifreeze overflow tank is at the correct level and clean. The carpet under my dash is not wet.. and I can not see any thing leaking.

2nd is my as$ end is low, I have to take it real slow going up inclines as it will rub against the pavement a bit. And the 3rd problem is low refridgerant. There are only 103 k miles on the car. The interior is a beautiful dark blue and in great condition. There are a few dings in the body and a little bit of rust starting to peek through. But want to get things straigtend out mechanically before I fix any cosmetic things. I have priced new tires and will be purchasing them this week.

Here are the diagnostic codes I pulled up..

Current -

B447

History-

E046

E098

B120

B121

B127

B446

B447

B552

ECM?

No Sir Codes..

And a few pictures of my baby...

1990CadillacSeville001.jpg

1990CadillacSeville002.jpg

1990CadillacSeville004.jpg

1990CadillacSeville006.jpg

Thanks a bunch,

Michelle

Welcome aboard. You did a lot a diagnostics, good job

That is a beauty, it looks like my 91 Seville a lot, I had a 4.9.

I do not believe that you are having an overheating problem at all and everything that you described appears normal, the hose will be hard at normal operating temp and soft when the car is cool