CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

IAC Adjustment

lothos

Anyone in Minnesota or Wisconsin have the IAC adjustment tool?

My IAC hunts for an idle when I turn the car off, I can feel the gas pedal move and hear it from under the hood. I got the I027 once as well, with a rough idle. I think it's just out of adjustment and would like to try to adjust it before I go replacing it.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

You don't have an IAC (Idle Air Control) valve. You have an ISC (Idle Speed Control) motor. There is no "adjustment tool". With the engine idling, press on the plunger till it fully retracts. When it bottoms out, pull the plug. The RPM should drop to about 450 RPM (may stall). Adjust the plunger to a .060 gap with the throttle linkage. If it continues to hunt or ratchets when shut down, it's time to replace it.

Ah, thanks for the clarification. :lol:

In my FSM the index says ISC, SEE IDLE SPEED CONTROL (MOTOR). There's no listing for Idle Speed Control Motor. Under Motor, ISC it says the same thing. Can't find it in the book.

How am I supposed to gap it to .060? Is it similar to gapping a spark plug?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

Still can't find it in the FSM but I found some instructions that I can print off and use.

Thank you Ranger for your clarification and help.

Cheers!

I just finished the diagnostic tree procedure in the FSM. Car stalled. Measured the outputs like the book said, I subtracted my minimum value of -.5 from the max value of 7.5 and got 8.0. That's below the 10 - 11 that it should be, book says to extend the plunger by turning counter-clockwise and re-test.

I can't find the plunger :lol: any pointers?

Other posts on the forum here say the gap should be .030, which is correct?

Cheers!