CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Overheat/No AC/Computer Reset Needed...Help!

Hello all,

Please bear with me as I am new to the Forum and to owning a Cadillac. I'm not a mechanic but I am good at fixing things as long as clear direction is given. So here we go...

I just purchased a 97' Seville SLS. Right now it's perfect because it can get me from A to B without too much hassle. The main problem is if I start making short legs on a trip, it overheats. The previous owner tells me the fan comes on sometimes but not all the time. He had the cooling sensor replaced which leads to problem #2. When he had that done, the computer when all weird and now needs a reset. I am receiving every type of message (coolant low/oil change needed/fuel low) and none of the instrument panel gauges read correctly (speedometer, tachometer, fuel). The last known issue which probably sits the lowest on the scale is that the A/C does not work. I need some help. Could resetting the computer fix the cooling problem? How much would that cost? Could the cooling issue be a simple fix? I can do simple fixes. Any and all help would be awesome.

Thanks

Ray

Have the battery checked and also check the cables for corrosion. Low battery voltage will bring all sorts of electrical Gremlins out of hiding.

Who replaced the battery? - some mounted batteries under the hood with a N* tend to have corrosion on both the terminals, and also the ends of the wires at the crimp. We have seen batteries replaced, without eny cleaning of the terminals. First you should search this site for reading the codes. (pressing the off & warmer buttons simultaniously for 3 seconds) If there is a battery/electrical issue, you'll see codes for it. Be prepared it can be multiple issues - both electrical, and mechanical.

- check the underside of the fuse block for corrosion

- the oil may be the OLM needs to be reset

- fuel can be a faulty gauge