CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Saying Hello

First I like to say hello and glad I found thid site.I just bought a 1994 DeVille 4.9 and waiting on some fsm I bought on e-bay comming snail mail.In the time ill get them ill do some fluid changes and small repairs.I do need a exhaust manifold (Left side) toward grill.Mine has a crack in it i didnt see when i bought this, with also not knowing how to read codes.Now about a dozen pop up but untill the manuals come ill wait for that.If anybody has one at a fair price and would like to part with it email me please.This car is for my wife ,i am a disabled vet and two hours a day working on the car is my limit.I dont drive due to the meds I take but its nice to have a Caddie again last one was a 1975 ,its feels good to be in some class again .Wish it was new but its new to me and what a ride.Thanks for having me!

:welcomesmiley:

I'm pretty new here too, this is my first Cadillac. I bought a 95 STS on Halloween, and I agree they're very classy.

Here is how to read your codes:

DTC display 1989-2000:

1. Turn the ignition switch ON. [bruce notes: interestingly, the engine can be on or off]

2. On the cars up to 1995, on the Climate Control panel, press the OFF and WARM buttons simultaneously.

3. Hold the buttons depressed until all display segments on the CC/DIC and instrument Panel Cluster (IPC) illuminate. On 1992 models, a separate combination panel houses both the ECC and DIC. On 1993-1994 models, the DIC is part of the instrument panel cluster.

4. After the segment check, the diagnostic trouble codes will be displayed. Each trouble code consists of the system identifier, a three-digit code identifier and the current or history identifier. If no codes are present for a system, a NO X CODE or NO X DATA message will be displayed.

* E -- ECM trouble code

* P -- PCM trouble code

* C -- Current trouble code

* H -- History trouble code

* NO X CODE -- No code present (X represents the system)