CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Help diagnosing bad FPR/injectors

lothos

Hello everyone. This board has been an invaluable resource for me since I've had the 1995 STS, purchase Oct 31 2007 with 152k miles. Currently has almost 158k. I apologize in advance if this post is a little long, trying to get as much info out there as possible, and I have lots of questions :lol: I also apologize if I sound like a total newbie, don't have much experience with mechanics. ( I do learn fast though, and just tackled a brake line job outside in <30 degree weather with hand tools and jacks/stands. Not a fun three days. :rolleyes: )

The problem is, on cold mornings I've occasionaly had white smoke that smells heavily of fuel out the tailpipes. I've been reading up on this, and saw a post describing a fuel smell in the motor oil and think I might have that as well. (took the oil filler cap off and sniffed. Might smell like fuel. The oil on the dipstick is dark and not runny/thin) When it's been extremely cold out the car has idled rough on cold morning starts with the white smoke. The white smoke smells like fuel and is really harsh to the senses. There was an egg/sulfur smell one time when the idle was really rough one morning.