CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

R-12 Air Cond. Servicing

GOOB

Summer is around the corner and I am getting the "low refrigerant" message and my compressor is not kicking on so it is time for repair. I have a Chilton's Manual and my reading skills are pretty good. I am a U.S. Marine so I follow directions well. I consider myself to be "mechanically inclined" but I need some pointers on servicing my A/C for I have never done this before. Is this something I can tackle myself or should I take it to the pros (thieves) at the local Caddy dealer? Any safety matters that I should look out for?

Any helpful tips, pointers, suggestions will be appreciated.

You can find R-12 and the charging hoses on ebay at a good price (by today's standards...). Otherwise, you'll need to find a shop that will top off the system for you.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71

I would get a factory service manual and just use the Chiltons for general problems. The Chiltons does not go into as much detail and too many years are crammed into it.

1st Be sure if is R12 or not. If it was serviced after R134 it may have been changed over. If not, And it is still r12 I think you'd be well advised to just take it to a shop. If that is not in the budget, they do make some stuff to top it off that is R12 compatable. No kidding, wall mart.

Low side is the side that gets cold. On your car proabl;y right nearthe radiator fill tank.

You can get a R134 fill kit pretty easy.

It has instructions.

The conversion kit is like $20 and that includes the R134 and the fittings to change from R12 to R134 plus some oil. But I don't think it is a job to do it yourself unless ya have the equipment and the know how.

If all it needs is a top off, then top it off with a compatable product. Look for stickers that say what is in there. If it's converted there should be a 134 sticker. You can always tell by the fittings because you can't put 134 into a 12 fitting Visa versa.