CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Air filter change interval

davedog

We finally got my wife's 2001 Beetle back from the various shops for damage related to her accident in December. I noticed it was a little sluggish off the line and realized it was way over due for a fuel filer & air filter - runs much better now.

ANYWAY, got me thinking, my 2005 SRX is about to hit 25k, I've had it for about 13 months (bought with 12k) and I have never replaced the air filter, and don't know if the previous owner has. I figured out how to pull it out, and while it wasn't as bad as my wife's air filter it still seemed pretty dirty - but I'm no expert. Found a picture of a dirty SRX air filter online - mine looks very similar as far as dirt goes:

IPB Image

So I was always tough every 12 to 15k, but on one sire it said 50k for the SRX? Any thoughts?

Thanks!

-dave B)

Crystal Red Tintcoat Exterior | Shale/Brownstone Interior | 32k

"Dirty" usually isn't really DIRTY in terms of an air filter, but it depends on the conditions under which the vehicle is driven I guess.

If you can take the filter out, tap out all the loose dirt, and it's still black or brown and looking grimy, just go ahead and replace it. Once a year is probably pretty often for an air filter. I think a 5 year interval isn't that unreasonable, but there's always that disclaimer, "or more often if you drive in dirty or dusty conditions."

Jason(2001 STS, White Diamond)

"When you turn your car on...does it return the favor?"

Run a little experiment on your engine and see how often you might want to change the air filter in your driving conditions.

Buy a spanking new filter for your engine. Before you install it, weigh it on an accurate (to 0.1 oz.) postage scale. Weigh it again in 3 months, 6 months.....

Jim

Drive your car.

Use your cell phone.

CHOOSE ONE !