CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

My '97 Eldo

BigCat83

Hi everyone,

I've been commuting to work in my '97 Eldo (70 miles RT) and losing a qt. plus of coolant every day

for the past month and a half and going through a qt of oil a week. This past week the temp gauge started to really, really climb several times and after much delay, research and discussions with a few local shops (Lutz, Fl area; are you sh!ttin' me! Talk about scary!!!), I decided to tackle the job myself. I'm an experienced amateur and ex tech school trained pro tech so I know what I'm doing (perhaps I do) ...

I started my repair this afternoon. Successfully and easily removed the intake manifold and all of the attached parts, etc.

My car has 91.5K on it and so far this is what I've found:

8 of the 10 intake manifold screws were loose, found evidence that a ham fisted mechanic (dealership "mechanic"?) had been there before me. Under the intake manifold on the right end was a HUGE oil soaked mouse nest. That entire end of the block valley was drenched in oil!!! I found no strong evidence of a serious external oil leak. And NO evidence of an external coolant leak into the valley. My assumptions are that one or both HGs have deteriorated internally, or that head bolts have pulled. I started having problems right after a spirited Italian tuneup after work one night.

The car is burning oil - the backside of the throttle plate is covered in an oily black sludge (oil soaked carbon) the inside of the intake manifold looks like it's covered in the same goo. I've worked on many Alfa Romeo I-4s, V-6s and Jaguar V-12s (sweet motor) over the years and have seen similar symptoms in those cars when they've need a top end rebuild. I really don't think my Northstar needs a top end rebuild, however...?