CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

R12 to R134a Conversion

GM-MAN

Hi, I was told of this forum by a fellow member at Cadillacowners.com for an A/C question that's pretty much self explanatory from the title.

I am a reefer mechanic and know my way around refrigeration systems but I've never converted one before so I'm not sure what I have to keep in mind if I want to introduce R134a in my R12 79 ElDorado.

Here are my questions:

1 - Where does the oil from the compressor drain and fill? Through the suction and discharge ports?

2 - How important is it to replace the receiver tank?

3 - The compressor on the car has two plugs, one for power and the other I don't know. Is it for the climate control?

4 - Should I just forget this conversion and just put in the propane-based R12b that is available as an R12 substitute?

5 - Anything else I should keep in mind about doing this conversion?

Thanks in adavance to anyone that may be able to help!!!!!

Hi, I was told of this forum by a fellow member at Cadillacowners.com for an A/C question that's pretty much self explanatory from the title.

I am a reefer mechanic and know my way around refrigeration systems but I've never converted one before so I'm not sure what I have to keep in mind if I want to introduce R134a in my R12 79 ElDorado.

Here are my questions:

1 - Where does the oil from the compressor drain and fill? Through the suction and discharge ports?

2 - How important is it to replace the receiver tank?

3 - The compressor on the car has two plugs, one for power and the other I don't know. Is it for the climate control?

4 - Should I just forget this conversion and just put in the propane-based R12b that is available as an R12 substitute?

5 - Anything else I should keep in mind about doing this conversion?

Thanks in adavance to anyone that may be able to help!!!!!