CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Tranny funny when cold

droger03

I have a weird problem. My tranny shifts fine in the morning when I first start out on my commute and then I start to loose 4th and 3rd. It happens after about 20 minutes of driving. I have done the shift solenoids and it still does the same thing. Is there something else that could be wrong?

I forgot to mention that this car is the 97 D'Elegance that I just bought and not my 96 Deville

Check the trouble codes, if you dont have any codes its likley a problem that GM couldn't anticipate, wich seems to be rare. Im not an expert on tranny's but 20 minutes is about the time it takes the northstar to heat up, sounds like it might be temperature related..scotty should be able to help you out.

A.J.

I checked the fluid level and it is fine. It does not go into limp home mode because it still is trying to shift into third and 4th. There is a really bad whine in the transmission coming from the left side of the car. it is present whether the tranny is hot or cold. It's funny though because the transmission works fine in the morning when it is cold. It is only after it heats up about 15-20 minutes into driving.

I checked the fluid level and it is fine. It does not go into limp home mode because it still is trying to shift into third and 4th. There is a really bad whine in the transmission coming from the left side of the car. it is present whether the tranny is hot or cold. It's funny though because the transmission works fine in the morning when it is cold. It is only after it heats up about 15-20 minutes into driving.