CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

DexcooL Dead?

The website refers to DexCool as a propylene gycol based which is not correct. DexCool is ethylene gycol based.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71

Well I guess its shows I'm not an expert on coolant. Missed that. But it is interesting reading. Reason I got here is because it's time to change the coolant in my truck. No big deal its cast iron. What I'm really concerned about is the stuff in my aluminum Northstar motor. According to this site and GMC you don’t want to use anything else. A quick search on Goggle (dexcool) turns up a bunch of lawsuits against Dexcool and some very unhappy people. Have to find out what’s best for the Caddy. Whatever the Caddy gets the truck gets. Not just yet however. Maybe some experts have something to add.

Your '95 Seville was filled with traditional, green coolant from the factory. You could use Dexcool in it but you will still need to drain and refill every 2 years/24,000 miles due to the silicates from the green coolant that have plated the insides of the engine. You can only go 5 years/100,000 miles if the DexCool was installed at the factory which means 1996 or newer cars.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71

The Dexcool WAS developed because of the aluminum block and Rad. And as far as the lawsuits go, a lot of people have been blaming a LOT of things on Dexcool. Some examples are poor maintenance, switching from green stuff to Dexcool, the infamous GM 3.8 intake leak and subsequent overheating, the list goes on. Follow your manual.

Never underestimate the amount of a persons greed.

As stated, stick with the OE recommendations and you'll be fine. Your '95 had the green coolant from the factory, so the benefits of DEX-COOL won't be realized in your engine, because the internals are already plated with the silicates from the green stuff.