CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Coolant Leak

taa99sts

I've been chasing a coolant leak for the past several months and can't seem to eliminate it. All hoses and connections look clean and ok. The leak makes its way down around by the oil and transmission pan onto the exhaust pipe that leads from the front manifold. You can smell it after the engine has been running awhile. The size of the leak is about 1/2 gallon every 1000 miles. I've tried a couple tubes of bars leak gold, but that didn't seem to help much. Any suggestions or thoughts?

Tim :(

Not to be a wise guy, but you say "....they look clean and OK..."

Have you actually used a screwdriver (or 5/16" nutdriver) to verify that all of the clamps are tight?

There are two short heater hoses, about 3" long, below and to the right of the throttle body. The screw clamps (4) are awkward to get at, but could be loose.

Use a strong light to carefully examine the engine from the top. Look for small puddles of coolant on the engine and transaxle. Often the leak is just above the puddle (not always as wind can move it around).

Another source is a pinhole or razor cut that only leaks when under acceleration. I have had both conditions.

1. One of the small heater hoses noted above, would only leak at high speed when it was under extra hard flow conditions, after I tightened the clamp it was fine :) .

2. I also had a month old lower radiator hose start leaking from a razor cut. I presume the auto parts store scratched it when opening a shipment with a utility knife. Only cure here of course was to get a replacement hose :( .

-George

Drive'em like you own 'em. - ....................04 DTS............................

DTS_Signature.jpg