CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Mailbag: 1970 Coupe DeVille - Turbo Build Questions

...I have read some of your post and you sound knowledgeable, well a lot more then me. I was a mechanic in the marines, now I'm out, but me and my son bought a 1970 Coupe DeVille convertible 472 ci that we are going to restore, frame off restoration. I have never done anything like this, but my brother in law does body and paint, but before i start i want to make sure i have a plan so my question is that I have been looking into maybe putting a turbocharger on the engine, its a 472 which can be made into a 500 ci. What are your thoughts on how the turbo would effect the engine block over time? I have a lot of experience with turbos but i have never tried to put one on an engine that was not meant to have a turbo. I am pretty sure i will need an oil cooler, new fuel delivery system, all new upgraded internal engine parts, new upgraded external engine parts as well, but what about changing the transmission, drive shaft and rear axle(its rwd), and updating the brakes? Also i am kind of lost on where to start with this project, as in how do i figure out the proper components to add a turbo, and which component do i want to start looking at first? Or would the turbo be a bad idea for that engine? My main goal is to teach my son mechanics, but i wanted to make it a bad *smurf* Cadillac that has power, we plan to paint it cherry red, white top, white interior with red trim its going to be amazing!

This is the kind of topic that we like to have on the forum, so, I'll start a topic there with your message, with names and other personal ID deleted. I presume that you found me by clicking on my web site on my profile and then on a webmaster e-mail link, because that is how your e-mail came, it seems.

I'm not an expert on big blocks but there are people on Caddyinfo that are. I'm sure that some of them will chime in.