CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Goodwrench 5.7 GM Diesel engine

I know the late 1970's and early 1980's GM 350 diesels had lots of issues - that can be mechanically tied basically to bolts that were notlong enough, but most importantly - being the engines were new, no one understood the technology.

Diesels require:

clean fuel (no water to corrode the fuel delivery system)

regular maintenance of the fuel filter

2500 mi oil changes

Diesel motor oil like rotella

head gasket bolts should never be reused (because of stretching)

with the ~1984 re-design of the 5.7 and manufactured by Goodwrench and now with an understanding of proper maintenance of a GM diesel, I would like to see if anyone else believes this engine is worthwile?

seems the cosensus is this engine can run forever if properly maintained, and it gets super mileage.

What is your application if you don't mind me asking?

I have been keeping my eye out for a 1976-1979 Seville. I recently came across one with 15k mi that had a Goodwrench diesel in it.

seems the ones that weren't torched for insurance fraud - survived, and GM eventually offered a gas or diesel replacement. a few of the Diesels are still around, usually with less mileage than gas.

I had two of the diesels....way back then. :)

I had a 1981 Seville Diesel. (Darling Wife called it her Humpback Cadillac)

I also had a 1980 Oldsmobile 88.

I was one of the lucky ones.

I never had any trouble with either one.

To make then run decent, they need a true dual exhaust system...that helps them a "LOT"

I also had the pump turned up om them.

They would then run (performance wise) with the gas engines of the day and get almost twice the mileage of the gas engines.

Posted Image

I too had an '81. It was a bigger dog than the 4.1. After the Roosamaster injection pump went, it blew a head gasket. That's when I dumped it. Don't know what if anything was changed so I can't speak for the later ones, but I wouldn't have one.