CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

lowering

I have a 4 door sedan deville, I want to lower the front end a couple inches. Are there spring kits available for this, or am I most likely going to have to have this done as a custom job. Any advice would be great. I am not a mechanic and have no experience w/susension.

Try Jamco Suspension. They appear to specialize in springs for those years.

installation info: taken from 1963-1964 Cadillac Community:

pg. 4-24

b. Installation

1. Position inboard end of lower arm in frame mount and install pivot bolt. Do not install nut at this time.

2. Tape rubber insulator to top of spring. Either end of spring may be used at top as both ends of spring are identical.

3. Install top of spring in upper seat of frame tower. Rotate spring so that bottom tang ends fits between raised edge of lower arm, and center of shock absorber, Fig. 4-36.

NOTE: Raised edge of top of arm faces

front of car on right side and rear

on left side.

4. With aid of helper, and with jack placed under lower arm, Fig. 4-37, tilt brake backing plate outward from bottom, and raise arm into position. Guide spring into position with tang end between raised edge on top of lower arm and center line of shock absorber.

Spring may have a tendency to rotate as arm is raised mispositioning tang end. End of tang MUST be between raised edge of arm and center line of shock absorber after spring is installed. Fig 4-36

5. Guide spherical joint stud into steering knuckle.

6. Install standard nut on joint stud and tighten until joint stud seats in knuckle.

7. Remove standard nut and install lock nut on joint stud, tightening to 65 foot-pounds.

8. Install nut on lower suspension arm pivot bolt. Do not tighten this nut until car is on all four wheels.

9. Tighten anchor bolt on brake backing plate to 100 foot-pounds, and bend locking tang over one flat of bolt head.