CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Major Engine Repair

AUSTINCTS1

Had a check engine light. Took to dealer, still under waranty. 2007 CTS. Told me it was the camshaft. They ordered a head assembly and said this was common due to problems with the GM contractor who manufactures the assembly. I'm no mechanic, but sounds major. Anyone else experience this. Thanks.

PS. Should I be worried due to the nature of the repair (future problems)?

Apparently there were some number of 2007 3.6L V6's which were built with timing chains that did not meet the specification for the part. The symptom of one of these is that the engine dies :o

You should be in good shape with the repair. With a 2007 your Cadillac came with a 100K mile powertrain warranty, so you can be assured of years of worry free motoring, as the press release might say. Keep all the service records, and you should have a loaner car covered under warranty while you wait on the repair.

Bruce

2023 Cadillac CT4-V Blackwing

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

The bulletin reads as if cars with VINs T, 7 which perhaps means 2007 year model?

Once the chain stretches and the engine gets out of timing bad things can happen, so you would need a new head etc.

Subject: LP1, LY7 MIL/DTCs P0008, P0009, P0016, P0017, P0018 or P0019 (Replace Primary Drive and Both Secondary Drive Timing Chains)

Models: 2007 Buick LaCrosse/Allure 2007 Cadillac CTS, SRX, STS with 2.8L HFV6 or 3.6L HFV6 Engine (VINs T, 7 -- RPOs LP1, LY7)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This bulletin is being revised to update the Parts Information. Please discard Corporate Bulletin Number 07-06-01-013 (Section 06 -- Engine/Propulsion System).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Condition: Some customers may comment on the Malfunction Indicator Lamp (MIL) being illuminated. Technicians may find the following Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs) stored: