CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Hello all. Newbie here with a couple of questions. I recently inherited a 95 Deville with the 4.9l and 180k on the clock. Drove the car home. Checked for codes and got p041 and i039. Checked the suspension and po replaced rear shocks with Monroe so not worried about that. I checked the distributor and believe it to be oe so I went to take the cap off only to find ALL the hold down bolts were rusted and stripped so the cap isn't coming off. Purchased new distributor and believe it to be installed correctly but now getting code p012. Also, now there is no fuel pressure @ the rail so that might be either a relay or the pump? All fuses are good. I have also noticed that some one has been into the anti theft as several wires are not attached to any thing but the security light goes out and the car was running like this so now I'm confused. Car cranks but will not start. Any help is appreciated, thanks in advance.

P012 is no distributor reference, with no dist reference the fuel pump will not turn on because the pcm does not "see" the engine cranking.

Are you sure the new distributor was "complete" ? Did it have a drive gear on the bottom. was the drift pin installed through the shaft. Did it have the hall effect and the ignition module installed? Very few are truly "complete" and ready to install.

Your original P041 was no hall effect switch signal - you have to push down on the dist cap retainers and then turn C-Clockwise to remove. With the old distributor out crab the retainers from the bottom then pull and turn. Check the old and new distributor connector and make sure all the parts are the same and the wiring and the connector pins are good.

THERE IS ALWAYS ENOUGH TIME TO DO THE JOB RIGHT - THERE IS NEVER ENOUGH TIME TO DO THE JOB AGAIN !!!