CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Hi there i got a 1997 caddy with a north star and the head gasket went on it. ive heard something about the head bolts that cause this problem. i was wondering if this is true if anyone had any suggestions or tips on how to fix this problem. this is my first time working on an American car im use to workin on the honda's but i found this one n i love the way it rides and drive, would appreciate any help. thanks

The factory book solution is to remove the power train then replace the head gasket and head bolts. I recommend that you timesert all of the head bolt holes whenever you have the heads off. Because of the need to timesert the heads, you really need to take the power train out of the Cadillac. The head bolts on the Northstar are not re-usable.

Also see: http://www.caddyinfo.com/nsrepair.htm

There are a couple of alternate approaches, although you still have to remove the powertrain for any. One alternate is http://www.northstarperformance.com who advocate a different process from the 'book' process, using studs.

Bruce

2023 Cadillac CT4-V Blackwing

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

Yup, big job. DO NOT attempt to save money by using Helicoils. They will pull. Use Timeserts or Norms inserts from Ebay (Norms have a coarser thread) or Jake's stud kit (best choice). Once done, it will be better than new.

thanks for the help i really appreciate it..now wold you recommend the norms from ebay over the Timeserts then? i was lookin at the jakes stud kit but im kinda on a budget right now so i wanna get ones that'll last for alil while until i can get extra money n just rebuild the motor. Hopefully with in 7-8 months i gonna start doin that but for now i just wanna be able to get around.